Toyota-Denso Cup

    Keywords: Tournament

(トヨタ&デンソー杯囲碁世界王座戦) The International Go Federation Toyota & Denso Cup - World Go Oza was the newest of the world go championships until its discontinuation in 2009, most likely owing to weakness in the automobile market. It was held every two years. Tournament history and results may be found at [ext] Tournament rules are also available [ext] here. The winner's prize was ¥30,000,000 plus a luxury car.

The event was a 32-player knockout tournament, leading up to a best of three final match (from 2005 onward). Games were played with three hour time limits.

Previous winners and defeated finalists
Ed. Year Winner Runner up Result
1st 2003 Yi Ch'ang-ho Chang Hao  
2nd 2005 Yi Se-tol Chang Hao 2-1
3rd 2006 Yi Se-tol Cho U 2-1
4th? 2008 Gu Li Piao Wenyao 2-0

Qualifying Tournaments, 2008

Japan [ext]
Seeded Players: Cho U 9p, Takao Shinji 9p, Yamashita Keigo 9p
Qualifiers: Hane Naoki 9p, Yamada Kimio 9p, Ogata Masaki 9p, Imamura Toshiya 9p, Hikosaka Naoto 9p, Kono Rin 9p, Kimu Sujun 9p, Yoda Norimoto 9p

China ?
Chang Hao 9p, Gu Li 9p, Xie He 7p, Liu Xing 7p, Piao Wenyao 5p

Korea [ext]
Seeded Players: Lee Sedol 9p, Lee Changho 9p, Park Yeonghun 9p, Mok Jinseok 9p, Cho Hanseung 9p, Park Jungsang 9p
Qualifiers: Hong Sungji 6p, Han Sanghoon 3p

Taiwan [ext]
Winner: Zhou Junxun 9p

Africa [ext] (Cape Town, South Africa)
9th February - 10th February
Winner: Victor Chow 7d

North America [ext] (Baltimore/Los Angeles, USA)
19th January - 20th January
Winners: Jie Li 7d, Jiang Mingjiu 7p

South America [ext] (Quito, Ecuador)
12th October - 14th October (07)
Winner: Fernando Aguilar 7d

Europe [ext] (EGC, Netherlands)
30th January - 3rd February
Winners: Cristian Pop 7d, Ilya Shikshin 7d, Alexandre Dinerchtein 3p

Oceania [ext] (Brisbane, Australia)
18th January - 20th January
Winner: Joanne Missingham 7d

Asia (excl. China, Korea, Japan, Taiwan) [ext] (Singapore, Singapore)
20th March - 24th March
Winner: Yang Shi Hai 8p

Qualifying Tournaments, 2006

Africa [ext] (Stellenbosch, South Africa)

North America [ext]

South America TorneoIberoamericano

Europe [ext] Final (Amstelveen, Netherlands)

Oceania [ext] (Brisbane, Australia)

Asia [ext] (Singapore)

Toyota-Denso Cup last edited by hnishy on October 12, 2022 - 12:34
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library