Keywords: Tournament

The NHK Cup is a single knockout tournament television title in Japan (before 1963 broadcast on radio). The winner's prize is ¥5,000,000.

You can replay past NHK Cup games by clicking '棋譜を見る' buttons [ext] on the official website. Use the scrawl bar on the table to select. For past years (58th edition and later), click buttons on the lower half of the page.


  1st 1954 Shimamura Toshihiro (d. Takagawa Shukaku)
  2nd 1955 Iwamoto Kaoru       (d. Fujisawa Hosai)
  3rd 1956 Hashimoto Utaro     (d. Sakata Eio)
  4th 1957 Sakata Eio          (d. Fujisawa Hosai)
  5th 1958 Sakata Eio          (d. Kitani Minoru)
  6th 1959 Sakata Eio          (d. Takagawa Shukaku)
  7th 1960 Kitani Minoru       (d. Fujisawa Hosai)
  8th 1961 Sakata Eio          (d. Kitani Minoru)
  9th 1962 Sakata Eio          (d. Hashimoto Utaro)
 10th 1963 Hashimoto Utaro     (d. Fujisawa Hideyuki)
 11th 1964 Sakata Eio          (d. Fujisawa Hideyuki)
 12th 1965 Sakata Eio          (d. Miyashita Hidehiro)
 13th 1966 Takagawa Shukaku    (d. Fujisawa Hideyuki)
 14th 1967 Hashimoto Shoji     (d. Fujisawa Hosai)
 15th 1968 Otake Hideo         (d. Hashimoto Shoji)
 16th 1969 Fujisawa Hideyuki   (d. Fujisawa Hosai)
 17th 1970 Rin Kaiho           (d. Sakata Eio)
 18th 1971 Otake Hideo         (d. Ishida Yoshio)
 19th 1972 Sakata Eio          (d. Otake Hideo)
 20th 1973 Otake Hideo         (d. Hashimoto Shoji)
 21st 1974 Rin Kaiho           (d. Kato Masao)
 22nd 1975 Otake Hideo         (d. Takemiya Masaki)
 23rd 1976 Sakata Eio          (d. Go Seigen)
 24th 1977 Sakata Eio          (d. Takemiya Masaki)
 25th 1978 Rin Kaiho           (d. Ohira Shuzo)
 26th 1979 Tono Hiroaki        (d. Takagi Shoichi)
 27th 1980 Hashimoto Shoji     (d. Cho Chikun)
 28th 1981 Fujisawa Hideyuki   (d. Takagi Shoichi)
 29th 1982 Sakata Eio          (d. Sugiuchi Masao)
 30th 1983 Cho Chikun          (d. Otake Hideo)
 31st 1984 Honda Kunihisa      (d. Takemiya Masaki)
 32nd 1985 Hashimoto Shoji     (d. Ishida Yoshio)
 33rd 1986 Kobayashi Koichi    (d. Takemiya Masaki)
 34th 1987 Ishida Yoshio       (d. Rin Kaiho)
 35th 1988 Kato Masao          (d. O Rissei)
 36th 1989 Takemiya Masaki     (d. Kobayashi Satoru)
 37th 1990 Ishida Yoshio       (d. Otake Hideo)
 38th 1991 Yoda Norimoto       (d. O Meien)
 39th 1992 Cho Chikun          (d. O Rissei)
 40th 1993 Yoda Norimoto       (d. Kato Masao)
 41st 1994 Otake Hideo         (d. Kato Masao)
 42nd 1995 Kobayashi Satoru    (d. Kiyonari Tetsuya)
 43rd 1996 Cho Chikun          (d. Kobayashi Satoru)
 44th 1997 O Rissei            (d. Kobayashi Koichi)
 45th 1998 Yoda Norimoto       (d. Honda Kunihisa)
 46th 1999 Yoda Norimoto       (d. Tono Hiroaki)
 47th 2000 Yoda Norimoto       (d. Imamura Toshiya)
 48th 2001 Ishida Yoshio       (d. Cho Chikun)
 49th 2002 Cho U               (d. Hane Naoki)
 50th 2003 Mimura Tomoyasu     (d. O Rissei)
 51st 2004 Kobayashi Koichi    (d. Cho Chikun)
 52nd 2005 Cho U               (d. Yoda Norimoto)
 53rd 2006 Hane Naoki          (d. Imamura Toshiya)
 54th 2007 Cho Chikun          (d. Yuki Satoshi)
 55th 2008 Cho U               (d. Cho Chikun)
 56th 2009 Yuki Satoshi        (d. Takemiya Masaki)
 57th 2010 Yuki Satoshi        (d. Iyama Yuta)
 58th 2011 Yamada Kimio        (d. Yoda Norimoto)
 59th 2012 Yuki Satoshi        (d. Hane Naoki)
 60th 2013 Yuki Satoshi        (d. Iyama Yuta)
 61st 2014 Yuki Satoshi        (d. Kono Rin)
 62nd 2015 Ida Atsushi         (d. Ichiriki Ryo)
 63rd 2016 Cho U               (d. Terayama Rei)
 64th 2017 Iyama Yuta          (d. Ichiriki Ryo)
 65th 2018 Iyama Yuta          (d. Shida Tatsuya)
 66th 2019 Ichiriki Ryo        (d. Iyama Yuta)
 67th 2020 Iyama Yuta          (d. Ichiriki Ryo)
 68th 2021 Ichiriki Ryo        (d. Yo Seiki)
 69th 2022 Ichiriki Ryo        (d. Takao Shinji)
 70th 2023 Seki Kotaro         (d. Ichiriki Ryo)

At 45 years old, Takao was one of the oldest challengers for any title in recent years.

COVID-19 responses

Since the COVID-19 outbreak, NHK has changed their studio for NHK Cup. Physical distances between players and assistants have been extended, and acrylic plates are positioned above the game boards between both players.

NHK Cup last edited by BakJeonghwan on August 23, 2023 - 17:25
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library