Asian TV Cup

    Keywords: Tournament

The Asian TV Cup (テレビ囲碁アジア選手権) is a knock out lightning go tournament broadcast in China, Japan and Korea. Participants are the defending champion (seeded to a Semifinal), the champions and runner-ups of the CCTV, NHK, and KBS from China, Japan, and Korea respectively. The time limits are 10 minutes and 30 seconds byo-yomi. The first tournament was held in 1989.


1989 1st  Takemiya Masaki  (d. Kobayashi Satoru)
1990 2nd  Takemiya Masaki  (d. Lee Chang Ho)
1991 3rd  Takemiya Masaki  (d. Cao Dayuan)
1992 4th  Takemiya Masaki  (d. Cho Hun Hyun)
1993 5th  Yoda Norimoto    (d. Seo Bong Soo)
1994 6th  Otake Hideo      (d. Qian Yuping)
1995 7th  Lee Chang Ho     (d. Cho Hun Hyun)
1996 8th  Lee Chang Ho     (d. Yoo Chang Hyuk)
1997 9th  Yu Bin           (d. O Rissei)
1998 10th Yoda Norimoto    (d. Ma XiaoChun)
1999 11th Yoda Norimoto    (d. Lee Chang Ho)
2000 12th Cho Hun Hyun     (d. Lee Chang Ho)
2001 13rd Cho Hun Hyun     (d. Mok JinSeok)
2002 14th Lee Chang Ho     (d. Cho Hun Hyun)
2003 15th Zhou Heyang      (d. Mimura Tomoyasu)
2004 16th Yu Bin           (d. Song Taekon)
2005 17th Cho U            (d. Cho Hansung)
2006 18th Wang Xi          (d. Lee Chang Ho)
2007 19th Lee Sedol        (d. Chen Yaoye)
2008 20th Lee Sedol        (d. Cho Hansung)
2009 21th Kong Jie         (d. Lee Sedol)
2010 22nd Kong Jie         (d. Yuki Satoshi)
2011 23rd Kong Jie         (d. Baek Hongsuk)
2012 24th Baek Hongsuk     (d. Kong Jie)
2013 25th Iyama Yuta       (d. Park Junghwan)
2014 26th Lee Sedol        (d. Kono Rin)
2015 27th Lee Sedol        (d. Park Junghwan)
2016 28th Li Qincheng      (d. Shin Jinseo)
2017 29th Na Hyun          (d. Lee Sedol)
2018 30th Kim Jiseok       (d. Na Hyun)
2019 31st Shin Jinseo      (d. Ding Hao)

Winners by Country:
Japan - 10
Korea - 13
China - 8

The predecessor of the three country tournament was the Japan-China TV Go Championship, held from 1985 to 1988.

1985 Ma Xiaochun (d.Hashimoto Shoji
1986 Kobayashi Koichi (d.Nie Weiping
1987 Ishida Yoshio (d. Nie Weiping
1988 Qian Yuping  (d. Kato Masao

Asian TV Cup last edited by hnishy on September 13, 2022 - 05:42
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library