Professional Records

    Keywords: Culture & History

This page is for records for professional players, in the sense of "mostest, bestest or fastest".

See also the list of old Go records, set in the 20th century.

Youngest Professionals

Also see Prodigy.

Youngest 9 dan professionals

Oldest promotion to 9 dan

Oldest active professional (living)

Sugiuchi Kazuko (nee Honda Kazuko), born 1927.3.6. Sugiuchi Masao's widow.

Oldest active professional (deceased)

Sugiuchi Masao, 97 years 1 month. He passed away in 2017.

Largest age difference between players in a game

  • 80 years: Sugiuchi Masao (95) vs Onishi Ryuhei (15) 10 March, 2016

Most Titles

valerio: by me, Ma Xiaochun won 50 titles. As of 2011-10-25, Gu Li won 38 titles (48, including unofficial tournaments).

Youngest International Title Holder

Lee Changho ([ext] according to Go Game Guru) at 16 years, 5 months and 29 days

Not Fan Tingyu at 16 years and 7 months

To clarify the apparent confusion, Go Game Guru [ext] explains here that age is counted starting from 1 at birth in Korean culture, so even though it's usually said that Lee Changho was 17 when he won the 3rd Tongyang Securities Cup, he was actually only 16 by the Western reckoning of age. This means that Lee Changho still holds this record.

Most Wins

See Professional Milestones.

Most wins of different titles


Honinbo: 12 wins (Cho Chikun, 1998) (Iyama holds the title with 11)
Oza: 11 wins (Kato Masao, 1993)
Meijin: 9 wins (Cho Chikun, 1999) (Iyama holds the title with 8)
Judan: 6 wins (Kato Masao, 1997) (Iyama has 5)
Tengen: 8 wins (Iyama Yuta, 2020)
Gosei: 9 wins (Kobayashi Koichi, 2002) (Iyama holds the title with 7)
Kisei: 9 wins (Iyama Yuta, 2021)

Ryusei: 4 wins (Ichiriki Ryo, 2020)

Japanese, female

Female Honinbo: 8 wins (Xie Yimin, 2017)
Female Meijin: 8 wins (Xie Yimin, 2016)
Female Kisei: 7 wins (Xie Yimin, 2017)
Female Saikyo: 3 wins (Fujisawa Rina, 2021)
Aidu Chuo / Tachiaoi Cup: 6 wins (Fujisawa Rina, 2021)


Myeongin: 13 wins (Lee Changho, 2003)


Mingren: 13 wins (Ma Xiaochun, 2001)


European Championship: 7 wins (Alexander Dinerchtein, 2009). Ilya Shikshin holds the title with 6. Jürgen Mattern won 8 times (by 1979), but was not professional. Then again, Ilya was an amateur for his first three wins.


Ing Cup: No multiple winners
LG Cup: 4 wins (Lee Changho, 2004)
Samsung Cup: 4 wins (Lee Sedol, 2012 and Ke Jie, 2020)
Chunlan Cup: 2 wins (Lee Changho, 2005 and Gu Li, 2015)


Professional Records last edited by hnishy on October 13, 2022 - 09:02
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library