Ing Cup

PageType: Path     Keywords: Tournament

(應氏杯世界職業圍棋錦標賽) The Ing Cup was the second world go championship, starting in August 1988, a few months after the 1st Fujitsu Cup. It has been held regularly every 4 years (notice how the schedule matches that of the Olympics). The event was conceived of by Ing Chang-ki, and is partly sponsored by the Ing Chang-ki Weichi Educational Foundation. The winner's prize is $400,000.

The 1st Ing Cup was a 16-player knockout tournament. This was increased to a 24-player knockout for the 2nd Ing Cup, with 8 players being seeded into the second round. The semifinals are best of three matches, and the final is best of five. Games are played according to the Ing rules, including an eight point komi.

So far the event has been won by a different player every time.

The 9th edition is being seriously affected by the pandemic. Up to quarterfinals were played online in September 2020 and semifinals in January 2021, the time and place of the final between Xie Ke (China) and Shin Jinseo (Korea) was set to August 2023.

Winners and defeated finalists
Edition Time Winner Runner-up Result
8th Apr 2016 - Oct 2016 Tang Weixing🇨🇳 Park Junghwan🇰🇷 3-2
7th May 2012 - Mar 2013 Fan Tingyu🇨🇳 Park Junghwan🇰🇷 3-1
6th Apr 2008 - Apr 2009 Ch'oe Ch'eol-han🇰🇷 Yi Ch'ang-ho🇰🇷 3-1
5th Apr 2004 - Mar 2005 Chang Hao🇨🇳 Ch'oe Ch'eol-han🇰🇷 3-1
4th Apr 2000 - Feb 2001 Yi Ch'ang-ho🇰🇷 Chang Hao🇨🇳 3-1
3rd Apr 1996 - Nov 1996 Yu Ch'ang-hyeok🇰🇷 Yoda Norimoto🇯🇵 3-1
2nd Jul 1992 - May 1993 Seo Pong-su🇰🇷 Otake Hideo🇯🇵 3-2
1st Aug 1988 - Sep 1989 Cho Hun-hyeon🇰🇷 Nie Weiping🇨🇳 3-2

For full results of each event, see the following articles:

External links

Ing Cup last edited by Dieter on September 11, 2023 - 17:14
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library