Keywords: Tournament

The Gosei (碁聖) is the smallest of the seven big titles in Japanese professional Go. The winner's prize is ¥8,000,000 currently, sixth among the big seven Japanese titles. It is sponsored by Shimbun Igo Renmei (新聞囲碁連盟 a group of 13 local papers), the Nihon Ki-in, and Kansai Ki-in.

The Gosei shares most of its structure with the other big titles in Japan - the winner of a preliminary tournament (in this case a single knockout tournament) plays a best of five match against the previous year's title holder.

Due to the importance of the Gosei as one of the "big seven" titles in Japan, there are several paths of automatic rank advancement through it in the Nihon Ki-in new promotion system (and practically the same in the Kansai Ki-in promotion system). Challenging for the title warrants a promotion to 7-dan, actually winning the title promotes to 8-dan, and finally winning the title twice gives an immediate 9-dan promotion.

Prior to the 37th term, competition in the Gosei was limited so that Nihon Ki-in players below 5 dan could not compete. At that time, Kansai players below 5 dan were allowed. As of the 37th term, any player may compete.

Winners and Runner-ups

The title match usually starts in June.

Winners and defeated finalists
Ed. Year Winner Runner-up Result
1st 1976 Kato Masao Otake Hideo 3-2
2nd 1977 Kato Masao Takemiya Masaki 3-0
3rd 1978 Otake Hideo Kato Masao 3-1
4th 1979 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo 3-0
5th 1980 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun 3-1
6th 1981 Otake Hideo Kato Masao 3-1
7th 1982 Otake Hideo Cho Chikun 3-2
8th 1983 Otake Hideo Awaji Shuzo 3-2
9th 1984 Otake Hideo Kato Masao 3-1
10th 1985 Otake Hideo Kudo Norio 3-1
11th 1986 Cho Chikun Otake Hideo 3-0
12th 1987 Kato Masao Cho Chikun 3-1
13th 1988 Kobayashi Koichi Kato Masao 3-0
14th 1989 Kobayashi Koichi Imamura Toshiya 3-1
15th 1990 Kobayashi Koichi Kobayashi Satoru 3-0
16th 1991 Kobayashi Koichi Kobayashi Satoru 3-2
17th 1992 Kobayashi Koichi Kobayashi Satoru 3-1
18th 1993 Kobayashi Koichi Rin Kaiho 3-0
19th 1994 Rin Kaiho Kobayashi Koichi 3-1
20th 1995 Kobayashi Satoru Rin Kaiho 3-2
21st 1996 Yoda Norimoto Kobayashi Satoru 3-0
22nd 1997 Yoda Norimoto Yuki Satoshi 3-1
23rd 1998 Yoda Norimoto Sonoda Yuichi 3-0
24th 1999 Kobayashi Koichi Yoda Norimoto 3-2
25th 2000 Yamashita Keigo Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
26th 2001 Kobayashi Koichi Yamashita Keigo 3-2
27th 2002 Kobayashi Koichi Yuki Satoshi 3-1
28th 2003 Yoda Norimoto Kobayashi Koichi 3-2
29th 2004 Yoda Norimoto Yamada Kimio 3-1
30th 2005 Yoda Norimoto Yuki Satoshi 3-0
31th 2006 Cho U Yoda Norimoto 3-0
32th 2007 Cho U Yokota Shigeaki 3-0
33th 2008 Cho U Yamashita Keigo 3-1
34th 2009 Cho U Yuki Satoshi 3-0
35th 2010 Sakai Hideyuki Cho U 3-2
36th 2011 Hane Naoki Sakai Hideyuki 3-2
37th 2012 Iyama Yuta Hane Naoki 3-0
38th 2013 Iyama Yuta Kono Rin 3-2
39th 2014 Iyama Yuta Kono Rin 3-2
40th 2015 Iyama Yuta Yamashita Keigo 3-1
41st 2016 Iyama Yuta Murakawa Daisuke 3-0
42nd 2017 Iyama Yuta Yamashita Keigo 3-0
43rd 2018 Kyo Kagen Iyama Yuta 3-0
44th 2019 Hane Naoki Kyo Kagen 3-2
45th 2020 Ichiriki Ryo Hane Naoki 3-0
46th 2021 Iyama Yuta Ichiriki Ryo 3-2
47th 2022 Iyama Yuta Ichiriki Ryo 3-0

Gosei last edited by hnishy on October 27, 2022 - 14:16
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library