Globis Cup

    Keywords: Tournament

The GLOBIS Cup World Go U-20 is an international tournament for young players that was introduced in 2014 and organised by the Nihon Kiin. It is named after the Japanese university and a corporation sponsoring it.

Fukuoka Kotaro's 2022 attempt was the first appearance in the finals of a Japanese representatiive since Kyo Kagen's second time running up, in 2016. It was the first time a Japanese-born player had reached them since Ichiriki Ryo's victory in the inaugural 2014 edition.

Wang Xinghao is the only player to have won twice (2021-22) or finalised three times (2021-23). He will turn twenty in February 2024 and will no longer be able to participate.


Ed. Year Winner Runner-up
1st 2014 Ichiriki Ryo (J) Kyo Kagen (J)
2nd 2015 Huang Yunsong (C) Na Hyun (K)
3rd 2016 Li Qincheng (C) Kyo Kagen (J)
4th 2017 Shin Jinseo (K) Byun Sangil (K)
5th 2018 Xu Jiayang (C) Shin Minjun (K)
6th 2019 Shin Minjun (K) Wang Zejin (C)
7th 2020 Moon Minjong (K) Li Weiqing (C)
8th 2021 Wang Xinghao (C) Tu Xiaoyu (C)
9th 2022 Wang Xinghao (C) Fukuoka Kotaro (J)
10th 2023 Han Woojin (K) Wang Xinghao (C)

See Also

Globis Cup last edited by bugcat on January 5, 2024 - 12:19
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library