14 Stable Japanese Titles

    Keywords: Culture & History

Since 1998, there have been fourteen stable Japanese titles:


  • 1941: Honinbo est.
  • 1950: Honinbo becomes annual
  • 1952-54: All-Japan Women's Championship ("Women's Honinbo"), Oza, NHK Cup est.
  • 1962: Meijin, Judan est.
  • 1975-77: Tengen, Gosei, Shinjin O, Kisei est.
  • 1982: AJWC renamed to Women's Honinbo
  • 1989-94: Women's Meijin, Ryusei, Agon Cup est.
  • 1998: Women's Kisei est.
  • 2010-11: Xie Yimin holds all three women's titles
  • 2015: ditto
  • 2017: Iyama Yuta holds all seven big titles
  • 2020: Fujisawa Rina holds all three women's titles, but the Female Meijin is cancelled this year so she doesn't have to defend it.

Later Titles

Two women's tournaments appeared in the mid-2010s, the Aidu Chuo Hospital Cup (2014) and the Female Strongest (2016), and continue to be held.

The Igo Masters Cup senior championship ran from 2011 to 2019.

See also

14 Stable Japanese Titles last edited by Dieter on December 20, 2023 - 13:57
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library