Women's Meijin

    Keywords: Tournament

This is the female-only equivalent of the Japanese Meijin title. Unlike the Meijin title, this tournament is conducted using the single knockout format to determine a challenger. The 20th edition uses a double elimination format to determine the challenger. The title is then decided by a best of three match with the previous year's title holder. The exceptions were in the first two years (1989 and 1990), when the title was actually determined by a Swiss system. Sponsored by Fuji Evening Newspaper and Nippon Life Insurance Company, the winner's prize is ¥5,100,000.

From the 21st edition, the sponsor changed to Sankei newspaper. At the same time, for the first time in female event in Japan, league system (7-player) to decide the challenger was introduced. The league system continued up to the 29th edition, and changed back to single knockout tournament from the 30th.

After the 31st edition, Sankei newspaper quitted as the sponsor for financial reasons. Nihon Ki-in failed to find substitute sponsors and the tournament will be discontinued.

Winners and defeated finalists
1st 1989 Miyazaki Shimako
2nd 1990 Aoki Kikuyo
3rd 1991 Sugiuchi Kazuko Aoki Kikuyo 2-1
4th 1992 Sugiuchi Kazuko Aoki Kikuyo 2-0
5th 1993 Sugiuchi Kazuko Aoki Kikuyo 2-0
6th 1994 Sugiuchi Kazuko Ogawa Tomoko 2-1
7th 1995 Kato Tomoko Sugiuchi Kazuko 2-0
8th 1996 Nishida Terumi Kato Tomoko 2-1
9th 1997 Nishida Terumi Ogawa Tomoko 2-0
10th 1998 Nishida Terumi Ogawa Tomoko 2-0
11th 1999 Aoki Kikuyo Nishida Terumi 2-0
12th 2000 Aoki Kikuyo Kobayashi Izumi 2-0
13th 2001 Kobayashi Izumi Aoki Kikuyo 2-0
14th 2002 Aoki Kikuyo Kobayashi Izumi 2-0
15th 2003 Kobayashi Izumi Aoki Kikuyo 2-0
16th 2004 Kobayashi Izumi Inori Yoko 2-0
17th 2005 Koyama Terumi Kobayashi Izumi 2-1
18th 2006 Aoki Kikuyo Koyama Terumi 2-0
19th 2007 Kato Keiko Aoki Kikuyo 2-1
20th 2008 Xie Yimin Kato Keiko 2-0
21th 2009 Xie Yimin Chinen Kaori 2-1
22th 2010 Xie Yimin Mukai Chiaki 2-0
23th 2011 Xie Yimin Mukai Chiaki 2-1
24th 2012 Xie Yimin Mukai Chiaki 2-0
25th 2013 Xie Yimin Okuda Aya 2-0
26th 2014 Xie Yimin Kato Keiko 2-1
27th 2015 Xie Yimin Suzuki Ayumi 2-0
28th 2016 Xie Yimin Aoki Kikuyo 2-1
29th 2017 Fujisawa Rina Xie Yimin 2-0
30th 2018 Fujisawa Rina Yashiro Kumiko 2-0
31st 2019 Fujisawa Rina Xie Yimin 2-1

Previously there was another female tournament named Women's Meijin

1st 1973 Kobayashi Reiko Ogawa Tomoko
2nd 1975 Kobayashi Reiko Ito Tomoe

Women's Meijin last edited by hnishy on November 22, 2019 - 14:35
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library