Double ko seki

  Difficulty: Advanced   Keywords: Ko

This page explains the specifics of a double ko seki. It is already explained at the double ko page, since it is a major application of the double ko. It is also a special case of a seki, so it deserves a separate page.


[Diagram]
Double Ko Seki  

This is a double ko seki. If Black takes at a White takes at b, and vice versa. Then the first player to take cannot continue locally.

Under Japanese rules, this seki, like all seki, provides no points to either player.

[Diagram]
Another Double Ko Seki  



Double ko seki provides an unlimited number of unremovable threats, which is a reason why some people consider that superko should be applied in most rulesets. (See also Moonshine Life)

Real-life example

[Diagram]
Moves 155 to 164 (10 at 7)  

An interesting double-ko seki occurred in [ext] this game between kghin and flyer on KGS. It turned out to be a temporary seki, as the surrounding group was dead, but continued to provide unlimited ko threats because the dead surrounding group had a number of liberties (but was on the losing end of a capturing race). The ko at a was involved in the capturing race, but the game was played under superko rules, preventing a triple-ko.


See Double Ko, Seki.


Double ko seki last edited by 50.23.115.116 on January 26, 2015 - 07:34
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library