Torazu sanmoku is Japanese for “Three points without capturing” and refers to the following situation:
The traditional Japanese ruling, attributed to Honinbo Shuwa, was that this corner position was worth 3 points for Black at the end, without his having to capture the marked white stones. However...
... the Japanese ’89 rules make this seki if it is left on the board at the end of the game. Therefore Black should capture before the game ends (See diagram; may be delayed). The name is misleading under current Japanese rules and the same is true for another similar shape, Torazu Gomoku.
Mathematical Go defends the 3-point ruling in terms of combinatorial game theory; see derivation for details. Note that this derivation is in terms of territory scoring, not stone scoring; see also the Discussion sub-page.
- However, the traditional Japanese Go rules call it “three points without capturing”, which means there are 3 points for White. This obviously does not comply with present Japanese rules. But by the idea of “each side”, even if White moves first and there are “equal stones”, the result is still 3 points for White. This shows that the original Japanese rules are based on the concept of “each side”, and “three points without capturing” is its legacy.
(Note: colors in the source are reversed, and by “each side” Chen means that each player plays the same number of moves/stones.)
- Torazu gomoku (“Five points without capturing”)