US Open

    Keywords: Tournament

The US Open is a tournament played at the annual US Go Congress. Being an "Open" tournament, it is open to both amateurs and professional players alike. The tournament is a six-round, Swiss-McMahon Tournament, one round per day (Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday). The player with the highest score will be declared the new US Open Champion. AGA rules apply, 7.5 komi. Players up to 3 Dan in strength receive 90 minutes of initial playing time, with 5 30-sec overtime periods. 4 Dans and stronger receive 120 min initial time, and 5 30-sec overtime periods.

The US Open is the largest tournament in the United States, typically drawing over 300 competitors.

Tournament Champions

2012: Zi Yang Hu
2011: Yongfei Ge
2010: Kim Myungwan
2009: Kim Myungwan
2008: Kim Myungwan
2007: Yongfei Ge
2006: Andy Liu
2005: Lin Xuefen
2004: Jie Li
2003: Jie Li
2002: Jie Li
2001: Yongfei Ge
2000: Ted Ning?
1999: Danning Jiang?
1998: Jie Li
1997: Thomas Hsiang
1996: Danning Jiang?
1995: Danning Jiang?
1994: Keun-Young Lee?
1993: John Lee
1992: Woo Jin Kim?
1991: Si Yeon Li?
1990: Jung Ho Lim?

Further records [ext] available

US Open last edited by bugcat on May 25, 2023 - 04:57
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library