Basic living eye shapes

  Difficulty: Beginner   Keywords: Life & Death

Table of contents

The discussions on living eye shapes assume that the group is surrounded. Corner shapes often behave differently.

Four-point eye shapes

In general there are five different four-point eye-shapes. Three of them, the straight four, the bent four and the twisted four are living shapes (no further play necessary). The status of the pyramid four depends on sente and the squared four (tombstone) is dead as it stands. (See also bent four in the corner.)

Straight four  

In the straight four, a and b in the diagram are miai.

Five-point eye shapes

All five-point eye shapes are alive except the crossed five and the bulky five. Some examples:

A five-point shape that is alive  
Another five-point shape that is alive  

Six-point eye shapes

All six-point eye shapes are unconditionally alive except for the rabbitty six and rectangular six in the corner.

Seven-points eye shapes

All eye shapes of seven points are alive.

Seven lives  

This shape (butterfly seven) is one that seems most likely to be killed, but after B1 the position is seki.

Eight-points eye shapes

Eight-point eye shapes are unconditionally alive.

Basic living eye shapes last edited by on September 17, 2018 - 17:37
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library