Tong Yang Securities Cup

    Keywords: Tournament

(東洋証券杯) The Tong Yang Securities Cup was a annual tournament sponsored by [ext] Tong Yang Securities (which now seems to have been renamed Tong Yang Investment Bank).

The 1st and 2nd Tong Yang Cup were a purely Korean tournament, but some Japanese, Chinese and Taiwanese players were invited as well. From the 3rd event onwards the tournament became a fully fledged world go championship. This third event was won by Yi Ch'ang-ho. It was his first international title, and can be considered to mark the beginning of Korean domination of world go.

Winners and defeated finalists
Ed. Year Winner Result Runner up
1st 1990 Yang Chae-ho 3-1 Chang Su-yeong[1]
2nd 1991 Seo Pong-su 3-1 Yi Ch'ang-ho
3rd 1992 Yi Ch'ang-ho 3-2 Rin Kaiho
4th 1993 Yi Ch'ang-ho 3-0 Cho Chikun
5th 1994 Cho Hun-hyeon 3-1 Yoda Norimoto
6th 1995 Ma Xiaochun 3-1 Nie Weiping
7th 1996 Yi Ch'ang-ho 3-1 Ma Xiaochun
8th 1997 Cho Hun-hyeon 3-0 Kobayashi Satoru
9th 1998 Yi Ch'ang-ho 3-1 Yu Ch'ang-hyeok

External Links

[1] Several sources give Chang Soohyun as his name.

Tong Yang Securities Cup last edited by hnishy on September 13, 2022 - 05:47
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library