One Thousand and One Life-and-Death Problems / Errata

It is of course completely possible that the readers are mistaken about the 'mistakes', so please add if you know more!

Thanks to Bozulich for this great book. The lack of explanations in the book really motivates one to look further and work on the problems in depth.

--Skelley

Table of contents

Errata

Page 4, problem 12, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Problem 12 solution  

The solution is correct, but the location of the 'b' annotation is wrong, it should be one line lower at the 1-3 point.



Page 28, problem 108, solution text

The solution text says: If White plays the diagonal move..., but it should be: If Black plays the diagonal move....



Page 42, problem 158, solution text

The solution says: ...a dead four-point eye space., but it should be: ...a dead five-point eye space.



Page 44, problem 168, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

"If Black turns at 1, White can't stop him from getting two eyes."

[Diagram]
White can make seki (6 at 4)  

However, White can obtain a seki by playing with W2 and W4.



Page 44, problem 172, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

"Black connects at 1 and makes an eye. There is nothing White can do."

[Diagram]
White can make seki  

White can make a seki by playing W2, making 'a' and 'b' miai.



Page 50, problem 195, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Book Solution  

The book claims that B1 makes a seki.

[Diagram]
Error  

However, W2 and W4 turns the position into a ko.

[Diagram]
Correct Solution  

Therefore, the correct solution should be to connect at B1 instead. It guarantees at least a seki.

[Diagram]
Seki  

W4 and W6 can turn the position into seki in gote.

[Diagram]
Independent life, plus  

W6 takes back at white+circle.

Or Black can make independent life, also in gote. Later B3 - W6 is sente.

Page 77, problem 300, problem diagram

Problem 300 is described as "Black to kill" and is in the section labelled "One-move problems - Black to kill" when it is actually Black to live. Note, the second printing (from June 2006) has this correctly labelled as "Black to live".

Page 82, problem 316, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Problem 316  

"Black peeps at B1. If White a, Black b. If White b, Black c also kills White."

The c is omitted in the diagram.

Note: Black c can be both circle.



Page 86, problem 327, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Problem 327  

The solution says "Black connects with 1. If white blocks at A, Black makes a placement at B."

A placement at C also works.



Page 96, problem 372, solution text

[Diagram]
Problem 372  

The solution says "Black 1 links up with his three stones below. White has only one eye."

Actually, white has no eyes; both the 1-2 point and the 2-3 point are false eyes.



Page 100, problem 386, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution  

The text says "Black B1 creates a dead eye space. If White a, Black b. If White c, Black d."

However, there are no c and d on the diagram.

It is possible that the intended sentence is "If White b, Black a."

This has been corrected in the 2006 edition.



Page 106, problem 408, solution text

"corner" rather than "cornert". (This has been corrected in the 2006 edition.)

Page 112, problem 430, solution text

Solution text says "If Black 1 at 2, White will descend to 1 and the black stones are short of liberties." Actually, the black stones are not short of liberties, but Black is dead anyway.

Page 116, problem 451, solution text

[Diagram]
Problem 451  

Solution says "...If White 2, Black draws back to 3 and he is alive."
Should say "...If White 2, Black at 3 or a lives."

Page 144, problem 572, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution  

"With B1, Black gets two eyes because it makes miai of the points W2 and B3."

[Diagram]
Seki  

Obviously white can just play W4 to make a seki.



Page 154, problem 621, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Problem 621 -- solution  

The solution given is B1, but the comment says that B1 at a also works.

[Diagram]
Problem 621 -- alternate  

The book is wrong. a and b are miai for White to live.



Page 181, problem 738

[Diagram]
Black to Live  

From the first printing dated February 2002.

The solution diagram shows how Black kills White. This problem is misplaced and belongs in part six of the book which contains five move Black to Kill problems.



Page 182, problem 740, solution text

[Diagram]
Black to Live  

The given solution is correct. However, the solution text then says If Black 1 at 3, White 1 leads to a ko. This is wrong, there is no ko; if Black 1 at 3, White 1 kills.



Page 183, problem 751, problem diagram

[Diagram]
Problem diagram  

"Black to live"

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

"Black plays B1, sacrificing two stones. After White captures with W4, Black B5 makes a second eye."

[Diagram]
The error  

Actually, Black can just connect his stones at a or b since White cannot make a false eye on the left. This way he does not have to sacrifice two stones to live.

Obviously, the white+circle stone should be removed from this problem for the intended solution to be the best solution.



Page 184, problem 752, solution diagram

[Diagram]
1  

"B1 is the vital point. Black B3 and B5 are obvious. Black has two ways to make his second eye."

[Diagram]
2  

Instead of W4, White can extend at B5 in Diagram 1, and Black does not have enough liberties to play at W4, and so must capture the four white stones...

[Diagram]
3  

Now White can play back under the stones to form a 10,000 year ko. The book states none of the "Black to live" solutions involve ko...

/Problem 752 - Mannenko Discussion



Page 192, problem 787

Wrong: White resists with 2 and 4, but Black ends up short of liberties.
Right: White resists with 2 and 4, but ends up short of liberties.

Page 192, problem 789, solution

I believe, that the result is seki, not two eyes for black.

[Diagram]
Seki  



Page 194, problem 799, solution

Black is not unconditionally alive. (Page iv says that unconditional life is intended in all "Black to live" problems.)

The solution given in the book:

[Diagram]
Claims that black can win with no ko  

But if white plays W4 at B5, white can make a ko! Watch:

[Diagram]
White can force a ko  

And now we have an approach ko for white, which, if won, kills black.

(B5 at W6 is a direct ko.)



Page 212, Problem 871, problem diagram

The marked black stone is missing in the original diagram; without it there is no way to kill white. (This has been corrected in the 2006 edition.)

[Diagram]
 



Page 231, problem 966, problem diagram

[Diagram]
White lives  

The problem says "Black to kill", but White can live with this sequence.



Multiple solutions

Page 36, problem 134, solution diagram

The solution given is:

[Diagram]
Problem 134 solution  

Black easily lives with 1. Black A also lives, but with a double ko.
However, there is another solution equally as good as 1. The solution should look like this:

[Diagram]
Problem 134 solution  

Black easily lives with 1 or B. Black A also lives, but with a double ko.



Page 64, problem 244, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solutions  

Solution diagram gives B1 as the solution. However, Black a works too.



Page 86, problem 325, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solutions  

Solution diagram gives B1 as the solution. However, Black a also works.



Page 88, problem 337, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solutions  

Solution diagram gives B1 as the solution. Black a also kills. However, the book solution B1 is better than a, because if black needs to actually remove the white stones, B1 avoids any possibility of ko in the corner.



Page 198, problem 810, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a also works.



Page 200, problem 821, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

The solution from the book.

[Diagram]
Alternative solution  

B1 forces W2 and after B3 the points a and b are miai.

Note: This solution works even with outside liberties.



Page 204, problem 839, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a or b also works, but these are slightly inferior to the book solution since they do not kill white as quickly.



Page 212, problem 872, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a also works.



Page 214, problem 881, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

3 at 5 also works, but is slightly inferior to the book solution.



Page 218, problem 903, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a also works.



Page 220, problem 910, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a also works, but is slightly inferior to the book solution.



Page 224, problem 929, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

5 at a also works, but is slightly inferior to the book solution.



Page 228, problem 945, solution diagram

[Diagram]
Solution  

The solution in the book shows this sequence as a solution. However, having B1 to directly hit the vital point at B3 is also a solution (think incomplete bulky five).



Page 238, problem 986, solution text

[Diagram]
Solution diagram  

The solution text says White is short of liberties, so he can't approach. However, even if white could approach, it wouldn't make any difference, white would still be dead.


One Thousand and One Life-and-Death Problems / Errata last edited by 88.115.159.88 on November 12, 2016 - 10:27
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library