Amateur Meijin

    Keywords: Tournament

The Amateur Meijin is a major tournament for Japanese players. It has been held since 2006.

Notable winners

The winner is given a chance to challenge the professional Meijin. Note that the games in 2020 have been cancelled due to COVID-19.

Year Winner Notes
2009 and 2010 Tsuneishi Takashi Currently a professional at the Nihon Ki-in
2011-2014 Hong Seok-ui Also won the Amateur Honinbo
2017 and 2019 Ozeki Minoru Former Insei, 3-time winner of the All Japan Students Go Oza Championship

Amateur Meijin last edited by Dieter on May 9, 2022 - 14:15
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library