World Go Championship


(ワールド碁チャンピオンシップ) The World Go Championship is an event organised by the Nihon Ki-in to which several of the top players of the world are invited. It was first held in 2017, featuring one player from Japan/China/Korea (Iyama Yuta, Mi Yuting, Park Junghwan) and the computer player DeepZenGo in an all-play-all league. In 2018 it featured 2 from Japan (Iyama Yuta, Yamashita Keigo), 2 from Korea (Park Junghwan, Shin Jinseo, 1 from China (Ke Jie) and 1 from Taiwan (Wang Yuanjun)in a single elimination. Unlike the similarly named World Chess Championship, it is not the the most prestigious title in Go, other international events such as the Samsung Cup, LG Cup, MLily Cup, Ing Cup, Bailing Cup are older, have larger numbers of players and larger prize money. However, 2019 World Championship had preliminaries.


  • 2017: Park Junghwan
  • 2018: Park Junghwan
  • 2019: Park Junghwan


World Go Championship last edited by hnishy on September 23, 2022 - 00:59
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library