Tianfu Cup

    Keywords: Tournament

(天府杯世界职业围棋锦标赛) The Tianfu Cup was an international tournament, apparently held only once, in 2018. For more information, see the [ext] Go to Everyone! section.

Its format was interesting. 32 players were divided into an A and a B block of sixteen players each, and each block competed in a single elimination knockout without seeding. This stage was held in Beijing, after which the rest of the event took place in Chengdu.

In the semifinal, the winner of the A block (Jiang Weijie) was paired against the loser of the B block (Shin Jinseo), and the winner of the B block (Park Junghwan) against the loser of the A block (Chen Yaoye).

Surprisingly, the losers of the previous round beat the winners: Shin beat Jiang and Chen beat Park.

The final was a best-of-three match. The first game was won by Chen, the second by Shin, and Shin won the decisive game.

The EGF was represented by Ali Jabarin, who was beaten by Jiang in the first round. The player for North America was an obscure Lu Haojun?, who lost his first game to Lian Xiao.

Tianfu Cup last edited by hnishy on September 18, 2022 - 01:07
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library