Tesuji - the book / Errata

Sub-page of TesujiTheBook

Please also have a look onto the discussion page for problems that are no erratum.

Table of contents Table of diagrams
Problem #3, Page 81 White to Play and Win
Page 82 Answer
White Dead via 3 in a row
White Dead
suggested amendment
Original Problem #3, Page 81 White to Play and Win
Answer given
Potential ko-escape for white?
Problematic variation
| . . . . . . . . .
Continuation
Continuation 2
Variation
vital point?
continuation
white can connect simply. Black 7 at 8 is not fast enough.
seki


Problem 3 on page 81 & 82

About the problem, "White to play and win for sure.":

The given solution (or problem) seems wrong. It was discussed on [ext] rec.games.go

Problem taken from third printing, not changed in later printings.

In the first printing something may have been slightly different.

What is the collective wisdom here? Incorrect solution? Wrong problem diagram? Combination?

[Diagram]
Problem #3, Page 81 White to Play and Win  
[Diagram]
Page 82 Answer  

Quote: White 1 is the safety play -- empty triangles are not always wrong.

[Diagram]
White Dead via 3 in a row  
[Diagram]
White Dead  

White suffers from a double shortage of liberties and therefore is dead.


Herman Hiddema: If you amend the problem like this, the given solution works:

[Diagram]
suggested amendment  


But the 1st printing of the Ishi Press edition has this as the original problem (extra black and white stone stretching up). This will work with the suggested solution (except the published solution seems still missing these extra stones), no?

[Diagram]
Original Problem #3, Page 81 White to Play and Win  

Problem 3, page 152

If white plays 4 at 5, she either has a ko to escape or links up with the white side, unless I have missed something.

[Diagram]
Answer given  
[Diagram]
Potential ko-escape for white?  



p143 Swap diagrams 5 and 6 to cause them to match the numbering in the answers.

Problem 1 on page 26, sixth printing

[Diagram]
Problematic variation  

There is a lot of scope for fighting and a great deal of complication in this move. It seems that black cannot kill white. A more complicated variation:

[Diagram]
| . . . . . . . . .  

Why not continue like this?:

There is a lot of scope for fighting and a great deal of complication in this move. It seems that black cannot kill white. A more complicated variation:

[Diagram]
Continuation  
[Diagram]
Continuation 2  

Ko.

Black can play 5 at the spot above, but then the corner will become seki or ko:

[Diagram]
Variation  

Either way, B does not appear to have unconditionally captured the cutting stones.

[Diagram]
vital point?  

ThorAvaTahr: If you connect like this it seems to me that black wins the semiai with one liberty.

[Diagram]
continuation  
[Diagram]
white can connect simply. Black 7 at 8 is not fast enough.  

In ThorAvaTahr's diagram, white seems to have played sub-optimally.

[Diagram]
seki  

Tesuji - the book / Errata last edited by 80.187.104.200 on October 9, 2018 - 12:52
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library