China-Korea-Japan Meijin

    Keywords: Tournament

Officially the China Changde Cup World Mingren Championship. This tournament between the Japanese Meijin, Chinese Mingren and Korean Myungin was held for the first time in 1996 and was a round-robin tournament. Lee Changho 7 dan beat 2-0 Takemiya Masaki 9 dan and Ma Xiaochun 9 dan; Takemiya beat Ma 2-0.

In 2010 the tournament was re-established in a different format. In the first round Lee Changho beat Gu Li, reaching directly the final. Then Gu Li beat Iyama Yuta. The final title game was played between Gu Li and Lee Changho and this time Gu Li won B+1.5, winning the tournament.

In 2011 Park Yeonghun won the tournament, beating Iyama Yuta in the first round and Jiang Weijie in the final game.

In 2012 Jiang Weijie won the tournament, losing against Park Yeonghun in the first round and beating Iyama Yuta in the second and Park in the final.

jwaytogo: Just posting to clarify the rules to this tournament. It is not a round robin tournament but a special pairing set up specifically for this tournament to keep the number of games small.

Of the three Meijins, one player will get a bye in the first round (as determined by lots). The other two players will play each other and the winner will get into the finals. The loser will get a chance to play the player with the bye for a spot in the finals.

It is quite like the opposite of a double elimination or knockout format. Instead of losing twice to get eliminated, you need to win twice to win the tournament.

Hyperpape: The same format was also used in the Bosai Cup. I believe it's actually a relatively common format.

China-Korea-Japan Meijin last edited by on October 3, 2017 - 16:14
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library