Keywords: EndGame, Question

What is the score in the following position? Must black fill a or are the white+circle stones considered dead without this move? Assume area counting (not Chinese) and no pass stones. Never mind that Black has lost either way. I'm interested in whether Black must play a or not.


Charles No need for Black to play inside: the white+circle stones are dead, despite the approach move at a.

White disputes  

Daniel: Even if white goes first here, the best she can do is put black in atari.

White disputes con't  

Now white has no legal moves in this part of the board...

Sandy Harris I do not think Black 4 is needed. Even without it, white has nothing.

ChrisSchack: No, it's not needed for life. Maybe it's to ensure the score comes out the same under territory rules?

BQM169 last edited by on July 26, 2005 - 16:41
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library