Win and Continue Team Tournament Format

    Keywords: Tournament

There are a number of Team Tournament Formats. The one described here is used in the Nongshim Cup, the Cheongkwanjang Cup, GG Auction Cup and Yayi Cup Tournaments.

Each team has the same number of players. Each team designates the order in which their players will participate. The first player from each team is paired against a first player from another team. The losing player is knocked out of the tournament, and the second player from that team plays in the next round. While the pairing system appears to be similar to round robin, only a single game is played at a time. The tournament ends when all the players of every team but one have been eliminated. The remaining team is the tournament winner.

Example from the 3rd Cheongkwanjang Cup

The tournament consisteed of three national teams of five players each:

Results and number of player left in each team:

  1. Lee Minjin defeats Cao Cheng: China 4, Japan, 5, Korea 5
  2. Umezawa Yukari defeats Lee Minjin: 4, 5, 4
  3. Ye Gui defeats Umezawa Yukari: 4, 4, 4
  4. Ye Gui defeats Hyun Mijin: 4, 4, 3
  5. Ye Gui defeats Yashiro Kumiko: 4, 3, 3
  6. Ye Gui defeats Kim Eunseon: 4, 3, 2
  7. Ye Gui defeats Suzuki Ayumi: 4, 2, 2
  8. Yun Yeongseon defeats Ye Gui: 3, 2, 2
  9. Yun Yeongseon defeats Mannami Kana: 3, 1, 2
  10. Xu Ying defeats Yun Yeongseon: 3, 1, 1
  11. Xu Ying defeats Kobayashi Izumi: 3, 0, 1
  12. Park Jieun defeats Xu Ying: 2, 0, 1
  13. Park Jieun defeats Zhang Xuan: 1, 0, 1
  14. Rui Naiwei defeats Park Jieun: 1, 0, 0

Team China won the 3rd Jeongganjang Cup

Win and Continue Team Tournament Format last edited by tapir on September 11, 2011 - 19:04
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library