Keywords: Tournament

(棋王戦) The Qiwang was one of the major Chinese titles. Like the old Korean Kiwang, it means "king of go". Discontinued in 2003.

It is (apparently) not to be confused with the WeifuFangkai, a successor tournament begun in 2003 to replace the Qiwang and thus sometimes itself referred to by that name.

Winners and defeated finalists:

1st  1989  Qian Yuping  3-0  Yu Bin
2nd  1990  Nie Weiping  3-1  Qian Yuping
3rd  1991  Ma Xiaochun  3-0  Nie Weiping
4th  1993  Ma Xiaochun  3-1  Liang Weitang
5th  1994  Ma Xiaochun  3-0  Cao Dayuan
6th  1995  Ma Xiaochun  3-2  Zhang Wendong
7th  2000  Yu Bin       2-1  Ma Xiaochun
8th  2002  Yu Bin       2-1  Kong Jie

Qiwang last edited by hnishy on September 29, 2022 - 14:24
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library