Honte Lib 4

    Keywords: Joseki
Double kakari joseki  

When W1 double kakari is played, the moves up to W7 are joseki and the normal continuation. Where should Black play now?

Follow-up: honte  

According to a book by Otake, B1 here is honte, while B1 immediately at a to attack white+circle is an overplay allowing White to play at B1. After B3 White can play at a but Black then has a chance to take the shape point at b.

Double kakari joseki, no pincer  

In the absence of a black pincer stone the same corner sequence is the joseki, almost the invariable continuation.


In this case, B1 is the pro play. When W2 is used to jump out, Black plays B3 and B5 and can then attack with a or b.

Therefore to call the immediate attack an overplay, in the presence of the pincer, requires a comment: that it neglects the pincer stone, rather than being a flawed attack.

Charles Matthews

Honte Lib 4 last edited by Bill on May 23, 2006 - 19:15
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library