Endgame Problem 8 / Solution

Sub-page of EndgameProblem8
[Diagram]
9x9 diagram  

Suggest your answer(s) here...

-Kris Rhodes


[Diagram]
Mistake - Black loses  

Note that for Black to connect at B1 leads to a hideous loss, because of a shortage of liberties. (Yes, I assumed this was the answer until I gave it more thought.) -- Bignose


[Diagram]
HolIgor  

What about this elegant move (B1)? White can't break in.

Kris: I think there is a move worth one more point - but of course, Black wins in either case.


[Diagram]
Lucky  

Lucky: Black can play any of the marked points a-g with the same result. If White captures three stones...

[Diagram]
 

... after W3 Black can connect. Black wins by 7 points.

[Diagram]
If Black does nothing  
[Diagram]
If Black does nothing (ii)  

If Black does nothing (passes) he cannot connect after W3.

[Diagram]
Ko  

White takes ko and has more threats (see HolIgor sequence). So White connects the ko and Black wins by 6 points. Black has lost a point.


[Diagram]
If Black does nothing  

From this position...

[Diagram]
If Black does nothing  

Shouldn't this be the next move?

-From Jasonred

[Diagram]
White response  

Playing B4 here is the same as connecting at B1 in the initial diagram. White could play W5, capturing the four black stones. If Black responds with B6, W7 captures all seven stones.

--Brian Marshall


Endgame Problem 8 / Solution last edited by Phelan on July 9, 2006 - 01:34
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library