BQM 499

    Keywords: Question

tapir: I have often a problem to count situations like this. The first question is about eyes in the seki, but what is with dead stones in those eyes? Is white+circle alive in seki or simply a dead stone? That is: Is the count white to black: 0:0, 0:1, 1:2, 1:3.

Herman: Under Japanese rules, if the situation is left like this until the end, then the score is 0:0, as there are no points in seki. Black should capture the white+circle stone before passing, as it will be worth a points as a prisoner. See also [ext] (specifically: Commentary on Article 10, Determining the Result, Clause 1).

Under Chinese rules, there are points in seki, and white+circle can be simply be removed before scoring the local position, or you can capture it after the dame are filled, to avoid confusion.

BQM 499 last edited by Dieter on January 13, 2012 - 17:20
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library