BQM 390

    Keywords: Question

The following is given as joseki in KJD (9/07):

A 4-4 distant low approach joseki:  

Point A is given as a follow-up move by black later, with the following variation given as a mistake for white:

After Black's invasion:  

White should not try to save with 2, according to KJD which shows the White group in the corner dying after White moves 4 at A... My question is how Black should followup if White plays 4 at B? Is a play at A or C or somewhere else the best local response?

Thanks! golearner (8k)

MrTenuki: B5 at A seems sufficient. If anything, it applies the one weak group between two principle and can be said to be a splitting attack:

After Black's invasion:  

Black connects by capture  

BQM 390 last edited by tapir on May 28, 2015 - 20:42
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library