Ten Games of DangHu

    Keywords: Culture & History

The Ten Games of DangHu (當湖十局) are a collection of ten games played by Fan Xiping and Shi Ding'an during the Qing Dynasty (circa 1739) while employed to teach the two sons of the Zhang family of Zhejiang Province. DangHu (or TangHu or PingHu) is a former name of the province. Eight of the games are considered to be masterpieces. Each player won five of the ten. The games begin with 4 stones (2 white and 2 black) placed on the star points of the four corners, as standard for Chinese games of this era.

Chen Zude wrote a detailed commentary on each of the games, and John Fairbairn wrote an article in Mindzine about these two players. The game records are not under copyright, however the aforementioned commentaries and articles are. Therefore, these commentaries have been discontinued on SL.

  1. The First Game of Dang Hu

Ten Games of DangHu last edited by 2001:0678:0e3c:0000 on November 19, 2022 - 03:30
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library