Games Of Wonder

Games of Wonder
("Yi Miao")
By: Wu Jun, Wu Jiong
Translator: Ruoshi Sun

ISBN10 1497460832
ISBN13 978-1497460836
170 pp.

Yi Miao (弈妙, Games of Wonder) is a Chinese game collection book compiled by Wu Jun (吳峻) and Wu Jiong (吳駉) in 1764. The book was published in two parts consecutively. Wu Jun compiled the first part and Wu Jiong the second.

It is a collection of 40 famous games from the Qing Dynasty from players such as Huang Longshi, Fan Xiping, Shi Ding'an, Cheng Lanru, and Liang Weijin. It includes eight games from the Ten-Game Match at Danghu and four from the Games of Blood and Tears.

Table of Contents

The original book contains the following contents:

  • Preface (Part I) by Wu Jun
  • Preface (Part II) by Wu Jiong
  • Part I (20 games)
  • Part II (20 games)


The book was translated into English under the title Games of Wonder in 2014 by Ruoshi Sun, and contains a foreword regarding the games as well as an alphabetical list of players and their biographies (if applicable):

  • Foreword (by Ruoshi Sun)
  • Preface of Part I (by Wu Jun)
  • Preface of Part II (by Wu Jiong)
  • List of Players
  • Part I (20 games)
  • Part II (20 games)

The English version is available on [ext] CreateSpace and [ext] Amazon. Sample pages can be viewed on Amazon.

Cover Image

The cover image is the game of "nine dragons playing with a pearl" (九龍戲珠), one of the most famous games in Chinese go history, played by Shi Xiangxia and Cheng Lanru. About 200 moves into the game, the life-and-death status of the nine dragons have still not been resolved.


See [ext] Discuss page

See Also

Games Of Wonder last edited by on March 23, 2016 - 03:19
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library