Positional Superko / Example

Sub-page of PositionalSuperko

This page's sole purpose is to give an example of Positional Superko.
Some readings the ChineseRules imply that this type of ko can occur, but in practice the rules are not applied like this in China. The rules are applied this way in KGS Chinese Rules.
Notice that it doesn't matter whose turn it was or is to move.

[Diagram]
Just before the start position, White to move  

W1 is just showing White's last move. This sets the stage for the position to be repeated (or rather banned from repetition).

[Diagram]
Black sends two, White returns one. But...  
[Diagram]
Black cannot play the marked point in positional superko.  

If black plays B4 at the marked point, it creates a position identical to the one after W1 in the first diagram. For positional superko it doesn't matter that Black is making the move instead of White.
yoyoma - I reorganized the diagrams to make a easier to see which two positions would be identical if the illegal move was played. The following remarks were originally about the old diagrams:

willemien - Notice the W1 stone that is missing in the starting position. So the positions are not the same.

(if white 2 was a pass then it would be a situational superko the same player is to move at both positions)

Herman: The position that is being repeated is the one after W2. So capturing after W4 is legal under situational superko, but illegal under positional superko. Hence the page name :)


Positional Superko / Example last edited by Iepur on January 21, 2016 - 22:35
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library