Largest capture that still can't live / Solution 2

Throw-in (B2 takes 16)  

White kills  

a and b being miai.

Robert Pauli: The original solution plays B8 at a and, of course, W9 at b, but this one creates more ko threats (if kept in reserve, of course). Not the topic, but anyway.

Robert Pauli: Here's why W3 (above) shouldn't capture the stone (side topic):

White slips: ko  

6 internal threats  

Ko fights after each white move skipped. Pretend that Black loses each and has no escape.

But even if Black had no hope to win the ko, a ko wouldn't be in the "rules": after capture, the eye must be unconditionally undividable.

White can't avoid ko  

Black either lives with a or b.

Nice variant, but only seki  

Largest capture that still can't live / Solution 2 last edited by RobertPauli on May 3, 2004 - 13:16
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library