Beginner Exercise 189 / Solution

Sub-page of BeginnerExercise189

Correct solution:

Black's alive! :)  

If white plays a, black plays b.. And still alive..

Wrong attempts:

Would be wrong..  

a and b are miai.. If black takes one, white plays the other and kills..


The main trap in this problem is that Black cannot play at B1. Because W2 is a snapback, in that if Black plays at a to capture the W2 stone, then White will capture the Black stones by playing at W2 again. Hence, the black+circle stones cannot be saved, and the whole group is dead.

Ohh and why does black need to add a move?

If black doesn't..  

Because white can kill! Black can't play at a! (It'd be self-atari..)

Solution by Reuven.

Beginner Exercise 189 / Solution last edited by P7A77 on February 7, 2005 - 05:16
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library