Beginner Exercise 121 / Solution

Sub-page of BeginnerExercise121
Black getting entangled in a net  

After W2, White can catch Black in a net with W4. B5 and B7 can be exchanged without changing the result.

Correct play for B1  

Black should have played at B1.

Correct play for B1  

Brent: Then what? How does Black continue after W2?

ProtoDeuteric: I believe that a play next to W2, on the edge, would be in order.

TA: Why not here?  

Protect, anyway  

W4 at black+circle.

Because W2 will force a protective move, anyway. Even if Black can play B3 - W4 with sente, Black will have to play B5.

OTOH, if Black plays at a, he threatens B2, saving black+circle.

It is a very close call. Depending on the rest of the board, B1 could be better.

See One-Two-Three.

B5 at black+circle  

Gronk: I was surprised not to see discussion of the possibility of ko.


Gronk: Therefore, B3 at W4 is safer.

Beginner Exercise 121 / Solution last edited by ProtoDeuteric on July 23, 2006 - 06:49
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library