Keywords: Life & Death, Ko, Problem, Question

Is this a good place for errata for the books? Does anyone know of a place with errata? The problem below has been annoying me, since they say that point b is wrong, and suggest a instead, but I am sure that b is just as good. -- JoshuaAllen

Volume 2 -- Problem 14 -- Black to play  

Anon: I think b is wrong because then white will play a, and then it will be a ko for black to catch the stones (black plays at c, white connects at d, black takes the ko at b, and the ko has begun). If black plays a, there is nothing white can do to save the stones, unless black ignores a move.

Yes, you are right. If white has a ko threat anywhere on the board, then she can escape. Thanks for the explanation! I guess it is not an error in the book at all. -- JoshuaAllen

BQM157 last edited by Dieter on July 5, 2008 - 12:47
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library