This is from a 5-stone handicap game and there is a tough semai going on at the bottom (white to move).

I tried to analyse it and think that white should win the semeai if he plays at a to increase his liberties.

Is that correct?

Position at move 100  

Andrew Grant: Playing a does not increase White's liberties. White had five liberties before (Black can play the b - c exchange at any time, so when counting liberties you can pretend that exchange has already happened), and there are still five afterwards. Black has seven liberties (I think; but it's too late at night and I'm too tired to work it out in my head - there's six at least) and therefore will win the semeai even if White plays first.

unkx80: Methinks White is behind by one liberty, and cannot win the capturing race.

BQM155 last edited by MrTenuki on July 9, 2006 - 01:02
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library