L&D question [#494]
184.108.40.206: L&D question
(2006-06-21 02:54) [#1738]
What's the status of this corner? Black has two separate eyes, but is unable to capture the white stones. I think this is seki, but I'd like somebody to confirm that.
: Re: L&D question
(2006-06-21 03:29) [#1739]
If White plays in this position, Black can capture the three white stones and live unconditionally. So, the best White can get from playing is a ko threat.
On the other hand, Black can force the position to repeat.
- Black plays in the corner at the 1-1 point. White is in atari.
- White captures two. Black is in atari.
- Black captures one, recreating the original position.
So, if Black is losing by less than the value capturing White and living (five points, probably less), Black can play at that 1-1 point to force a drawn or no result game. The outcome depends upon the rule set and how it handles repeating positions. Each repeat costs Black a point, because White is capturing two for each single stone Black captures.
: ((no subject))
(2006-06-21 03:59) [#1740]
If Black insists on actualy playing that way, wouldn't White just let him have the group after 30 or so repetitions?
Oh wait-- I guess you're saying that under area scoring rules Black can make the game last forever?
220.127.116.11: Re: ((no subject))
(2006-06-21 05:42) [#1741]
No known area rules in actual use would allow endless repetition by Sending Two, Returning One. It's a seki.
: disagree. Please see [Super Ko] page.
(2006-06-21 11:42) [#1745]
Please see the Super Ko page which discusses a position identical to this one in all essentials. Per that page, there are rule sets that disallow this type of repeated board position.
18.104.22.168: ((no subject))
(2006-06-21 06:16) [#1743]
Thanks for the responses. I should have looked at the seki page first. The fourth example, seki with a single false eye, covers it quite nicely.
22.214.171.124: ((no subject))
(2015-09-23 18:13) [#10593]
can you take me to the game please