Strange Sekis/ Solution 2

Sub-page of StrangeSekis

The first one is a complete seki, i.e. if one player adds a move, he lose points (here, as almost always, he loses all his groups, but this is not the case in the following example).

But in the second position, White can get points by capturing the square block of 4 (first capturing the other 4 stones is a bad mistake, as White then loses everything!). When he next captures the other 4 stones, Black has no time to play back at the vital point (else she loses the semeai) and must be happy to get a seki: White scores 11 more points (by Japanese or Chinese rules).

Anon White gets 12 more points under Chinese rules, because white played one more stone than black.


The order of W5 and W7 can be reversed. W5 is needed otherwise black can play at 'a' and win the race. If W7 doesn't make eyes (as in the first example where both nakades are bulky four), white loses everything.

Strange Sekis/ Solution 2 last edited by on November 17, 2012 - 15:24
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library