Snapback Problem 31 / Solution

Sub-page of SnapbackProblem31
A threat of a snapback  

By playing W2, White creates a 4 point (miai counting) threat of a snapback with W3.

Correct local move  

B1 is the correct local move, saving Black's two stones and threatening B2. Later B5 and W6 are worth 1 point miai.

Black is 1 point better off than in the first diagram.

Tenuki is another option.


W1 - W3 gains 1.5 points in gote. Later B6, W7, B8, and white+circle are 1 point moves. This is the price of Black's tenuki and it is not large.

Carcer- just a thought isn't the snapback 0 points? white gets two points and black also takes 2 points?


Bill: The snapback is worth 4 points. If White captures the 3 Black stones she gets 8 points in gote (the 3 black+circle stones plus the 3 points they occupy, plus the 2 circle points), while if Black saves them those points are not territory. Before the snapback White can claim 4 of those points. If she plays at W1 she gets 4 more points, while if Black plays there he takes 4 points away.

Snapback Problem 31 / Solution last edited by BillSpight on July 5, 2004 - 08:10
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library