JapaneseRules/Life and Death Questions

Sub-page of JapaneseRules

The following position arose in a KGS game. The question is, What is the endgame status of the bottom left corner under the current Japanese rules?

Black can win the ko in hypothetical play  

W2 @ white+circle, W4 nakade, W6 pass for the ko

There is an approach ko in the bottom left corner. The White stones are dead in hypothetical play because Black can capture them. After Black takes the ko with B5, White passes for the ko, threatening to take it back, but Black simply captures the White group.

Does the marked intersection need to be filled?  

Is the marked intersection a point? If so, white wins. If not, jigo.

In case it makes a difference the square was the last point played, then both players passed.

Herman: Yes, white needs to fill. (Also, there is still something in the upper right...)

JapaneseRules/Life and Death Questions last edited by HermanHiddema on December 5, 2013 - 09:40
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library