Endgame Tesuji4

    Keywords: EndGame, Tesuji
The Tesuji  
The Tesuji - continuation  

Once one has seen B1, it looks so obvious that one probably would not want to call it a tesuji anymore. But it is surprising when one encounters it for the first time. Since the sequence Black a through White d will almost certainly be Black's privilege, this is about 4 points better than the result of the monkey jump.


Not the right place for monkey jump  

This move can sometimes be seen in amateur games. It is almost always wrong. It can sometimes have shape problems when White plays at a. But even for pure territory, it is a loss:

Result after monkey jump  
Nothing to be afraid of  

While the shape built by the marked stone may look akward, there is nothing White can do.

One tricky question is how early one wants to play this sequence.


Since the white move at W1 is either sente, or creates the nerai of White a, Black's sequence is very big. Often, Black can play it as soon as he is sure that he does not want to enter at b instead.

Timm(5k): Is B2 correct ? Shouldn't it be at the 3,3 point like below ?

tapir: B2 at 33 means W1 was sente as in "W1 is either sente, or creates the nerai of White a". (The whole reason this is a tesuji series is that you can teach correct sequences vs. sequences that lose point w/o going in full detail. There is even another endgame tesuji page for the move at 33.)

Timm: Thanks tapir. Actually I thought that Black's possible answers were 3,3 or tenuki, and that B2 was aji keshi. So is B2 the proper answer to keep sente, and tenuki is wrong ? Or maybe both tenuki and B2 are possible depending on the situation ?

Uberdude: Both are possible depending on the situation. But if you do answer in gote please do not disregard the pole connection at 4-3 as an alternative to the 3-3. The 3-3 is better for endgame, but the pole connection is thicker with respect to the outside and can sometimes come in useful in later fighting there.


Comparison 1  
Comparison 2  

W3, B4 is middling out, because both hane plays are gote. B6 W7 and W9 B10 are two sente exchanges. There are probably some other possibilities for comparison too. If we assume all this, then this move is 9 points in double sente.

N. B.: This is not a double sente. See [ext] http://senseis.xmp.net/?DoubleSenteIsRelative


Endgame Tesuji4 last edited by on November 12, 2014 - 06:36
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library