Keywords: Tournament

(大王) D'aewang, Greatest of all Kings or MBC Emperor Tournament, was a Korean, professional title. It refers to an ancient title used by the rulers of Goguryeo, one of the Three Kingdoms of Korea. In the last terms, ₩11 millon out of a prize fund of ₩1,069 million. Preliminaries 10 minutes each. Main event: 5 minutes each and three byoyomi periods of 30 seconds each w/ 5.5-komi.

Winners and defeated finalists
Ed. Year Winner Runner-up Result
1st 1983 Cho Hun-hyeon Seo Bongsoo 2-0
2nd 1984 Seo Bongsoo Jang Suyeong 2-0
3rd 1985 Cho Hun-hyeon Ha Ch'an-seok 2-0
4th 1986 Cho Hun-hyeon Seo Bongsoo 2-1
5th 1987 Cho Hun-hyeon Seo Bongsoo 2-0
6th 1988 Seo Bongsoo Cho Hun-hyeon 2-0
7th 1989 Cho Hun-hyeon Seo Bongsoo 2-0
8th 1990 Cho Hun-hyeon Seo Neung-uk 2-0
9th 1991 Yi Ch'ang-ho Seo Bongsoo 2-0
10th 1992 Yi Ch'ang-ho Yu Ch'ang-hyeok 2-0
11th 1993 Yi Ch'ang-ho Yu Ch'ang-hyeok 2-0
12th 1994 Cho Hun-hyeon Yu Ch'ang-hyeok 2-1
13th 1995 Cho Hun-hyeon Kim Seong-ryong 2-0


  • Not to be confused with the Taewang.

Daewang last edited by hnishy on September 17, 2022 - 07:12
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library