British Champion

    Keywords: Culture & History

The list of British Go Champions can be found [ext] here

Below is a condensed list that puts across the general idea.

Year Champion Runner up
1965-73, -75-77 Jon Diamond Paul Prescott (won 1974)
1978-84 Matthew Macfadyen (1st era) Terry Stacey 5/7 years
1985-86 Terry Stacey Matthew Macfadyen
1988-92 Matthew Macfadyen (2nd era) Edmund Shaw 3/5 years
1993-96 Shutai Zhang Matthew Macfadyen
1997-2005 Matthew Macfadyen (3rd era) Matthew Cocke 3/9 years
2006-07 Bei Ge Alex Selby
2008-11 Matthew Macfadyen (4th era) Hui Wang 2/4 years
2012-14 Andrew Kay various
2017-19 various Andrew Simons (won 2015)
2020-23 various Bruno Poltronieri

There has been no dominant player since 2014. No-one has been champion twice in a row. Daniel Hu has (barely) won most, 2/8 years. Andrew Simons has finalised most, 4/8 years. In recent years, Bruno Poltronieri has been the only runner up.

British Champion last edited by bugcat on March 10, 2024 - 03:14
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library