Beginner Exercise 29 / Discussion

Sub-page of BeginnerExercise29
Black to live  

The above solution(s) are incorrect. The vital point is B1. Once B1 is played, White must play at W2 to survive. Black then plays at B3. White captures B1 with W4 to prevent Black from capturing it's group. At this point Black must play at B5. B3 is not in atari so there is no need to solidify with 'a', for if Black did play at 'a', White would respond with 'b'. If Black plays at B5, White will be captured and Black can live. --Anonymous

The statement above is wrong. After B5 white has an eye and black does not. White can even play tenuki. If now black plays a white plays b and vice versa. This situation is called me-ari-me-nashi. Hans

The last two paragraphs are very confusing. Is the first totally wrong? Shouldn't it be deleted or rewritten as another incorrect solution? Eric545

unkx80: The first paragraph was posted by an anonymous user, while the second it posted by Hans. As the person who posted this problem, I say that the diagram is wrong.

Beginner Exercise 29 / Discussion last edited by Unkx80 on July 14, 2009 - 05:07
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library