Asking opponent if the game is finished before the dame are filled


At the end of the game, as the dame are being filled, it is necessary to decide whether one needs to make reinforcing moves within one's own territory. If these moves are unnecessary, they would cost points.

It is tempting to seek the opponent's agreement that the game is over before the dame are filled in order to avoid having to make this decision.

This is a bad habit.

I (anonymous) think the best practise is to play out the dame as part of the game; in a timed game, within one's alloted time. Don't start a conversation about whether the game is over, but wait for two passes.

blubb: I second that request, particularly because it resolves the most common chinese vs. japanese scoring conflict.

Bill: The main difference that the Japanese '89 rules made in my game was the filling of dame and making protective plays before the end of the game, even though, playing with other experienced players, I have never run into a problem with not doing so. I was surprised to find that the pros still ended the game before doing so, and that there was a loophole in the rules to allow that practice to continue. However, there have been some untoward events in pro games in recent years that have changed professional practice.

Still, passing to end the game seems unnecessarily legalistic in casual play. We end the game by agreement, and sometimes discover an unfilled dame later, even when filling in territory. No problem.

Asking opponent if the game is finished before the dame are filled last edited by Dieter on June 11, 2014 - 10:49
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library