Sending three, returning one / Discussion

Superko position 1  

Superko position 2  

Bill: In this lopsided superko, where White passes twice per cycle, under area scoring Black would prefer the game to end in position 2 rather than position 1, since he would get one more point.

Wilton Kee raises the point that, under Spight rules, this might be unfair to Black. (If White passes first in position 1, then if Black makes the cycle and White passes again in that position, that's where play stops by Spight rules.) However, Black can choose which position play ends on, by passing himself in the one he prefers after White's pass, or not sending three in the first place.

Sending three, returning one / Discussion last edited by on October 12, 2005 - 19:58
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library