Second Line Clamp

  Difficulty: Intermediate   Keywords: EndGame, Tesuji
Clamp on the second line  

The clamp W1 on black+circle threatens to watari underneath with a or start a second line capture with b.
Depending on the context (hinted at by the circled points), Black can either resist at a, connect at b or even play c (but this leaves black+circle in atari after white a.) If Black can't resist, the clamp is a big endgame play.

Can black resist?  

To resist black needs to capture W3 directly or in a ladder. A net is not enough since black+circle+B2 will be captured then. (Alternatively, if black+square is very stable - more than in this diagram -, black may force once or twice and simply capture W1.)

Less direct White moves  

Another thing to keep in mind when trying to resist with B2 is that White can just threaten to play a with W3 or circle for example. Such moves can often carry other threats too. All things considered black has to be very careful about resisting with B2.

Second Line Clamp last edited by joegasgano on November 26, 2021 - 06:05
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library