Rescue and Capture / Errata

Sub-page of RescueAndCapture

Table of contents Table of diagrams
Problem 9
White can get a ko
Book diagram: Black saves the corner.
Correct solution

Problem 3 solution, page 7

the middle answer diagram doesn't adhere to normal conventions. white+square is incorrectly shown as W4.


W4 at white+square

Problem 9 solution, page 19

This is the problem diagram:

Problem 9  

The book doesn't give the following diagram:

White can get a ko  

It looks to me like white can resist as in this diagram.

But maybe I'm missing something... The book gives the following diagram:

Book diagram: Black saves the corner.  

With all due respect, I think that Yang Yilun has made a mistake here. Malcolm

I don't think so. That corner is still ko in the book diagram (white plays the hane right now.) Plus white's outside clump of stones still might be useful even if he loses it. In your variation, if white loses the ko he also loses the 5 stones immediately. -- ethanb

Problem 40 solution, page 81

top answer text : colour is wrong. It should read:

variations and whatever White does, he will

Problem 74 solution, page 151

top answer diagram doesn't adhere to normal conventions. black+square is incorrectly shown as B8 and is in fact W8 anyway.

Correct solution  

W8 at black+square

Rescue and Capture / Errata last edited by on December 1, 2010 - 09:03
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library