Sub-page of IkedasRule
Diagram 3-7.3  

Black unnecessarily reinforces its territory.

Territory+Prisoners Score
W30 B30
Area Score
W60 B61
Ikeda's Rule
White passes first +1 white
W61 B61
Button Go
White passes first +0.5 white
W60.5 B61

MrTenuki: Notice that this is the only case in the example in which the result of the game depends on the ruleset. Here, territory scoring agrees with that of Ikeda's method (i.e. the result is a jigo) if pass stones are not used (the AGA territory + prisoner score would be W31 to B32 as white has to make the last pass), while both area scoring and Button Go give a Black win.

Flower: Why do you say "If pass stones are not used"? I would expect W31 B32 especially if pass stones are used. (AGA rules)

Flower: Oh wait, I think I get it now. Your comment sounded at first as if you were saying that if you use no-passtones with AGA rules then it will result in W31 B32. Yet I think your assumption is erroneous. For if you use Equivalence Scoring as counting method (which implies the use of pass stones as well as area scoring) then you can apply Ikeda's Rule the same way as you would apply it to any other Area Scoring ruleset. You add 1 to white's score if it passed first. In fact if you prefer to evaluate the score by counting territory+prisoners then an even easier method to use Ikeda's Rule wich can be used together with Equivalence Scoring. (I use it when I play OTB) --> see EquivalenceScoringAndIkedasRule

Flower: Last but not least :) thanks for fixing some of the typos :)

IkedasRule/Example1Discussion last edited by Flower on March 4, 2007 - 03:36
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library