Forum for Life And Death - the book
Smejko's confusion, moved from Errata [#3251]
22.214.171.124: Smejko's confusion, moved from Errata
(2016-05-16 19:10) [#10724]
Smejko In chapter 3 ("Four- and five-space eyes"), in the problems section, the solution to the Problem nr. 2 when black plays first is given as 1, which is correct. But the author also states that: "black lives with six points of territory". I do not understand, where black should get 6 points of territory from. The most I was able to find was 3 points of territory (after playing at 'a' and 'b'). Who is now correct in his counting?
126.96.36.199: Re: Smejko's confusion, moved from Errata
(2016-05-16 19:15) [#10725]
The book is correct, black has 6 points of territory: 4 from the empty spaces and 2 from the dead stone. You don't need to capture dead stones inside your territory to make points there, check out http://senseis.xmp.net/?JapaneseCountingExample