Sub-page of TheWorkshopLectures


Volume 6 Page 34

"After B9, Black wins the capturing race" says Yilun Yang. Would someone care to show how Black proposes to win this race after White connects to the left of W6.

Black wins?  

Volume 4 Page 60 vs. Volume 6 Page 57

Position 1  

This diagram (p. 60 Vol 4) is accompanied by the following statement, "Black must extend along the second line to B20 in this sequence in order to have enough liberties to kill White in the corner."

Position 1 continuation  

This is the continuation of the previous sequence (everything is shown on a single diagram in the book). Note Black B26.

Position 2  

Essentially exactly the same position is considered on p. 57 Vol 6 (some external stones are different but they have no effect on the shown sequence). The text reads, "Black must extend all the way to B22 to get enough liberties to win the fight in the corner."

Position 2 continuation  

And this is the continuation (note Black B28).

So, I'm a little confused now. Does Black have to extend four times (as in Vol 4) or five times (as in Vol 6)?

TheWorkshopLectures/Questions last edited by on March 7, 2009 - 03:38
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library